Fun Exercise — Self Disclosure

I was tagged by Bowden (McElroy Counseling Notes) to participate in the following exercise in self-disclosure.

1. Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself.
3. Tag 7 random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs.

Seven Facts About Me:

  1. I love cats, especially short-hairs, but am so allergic to them I can’t have one as a pet. Dogs are OK but they smell bad and have to be walked. Ick! My favorite dog is a long-haired weiner dog.
  2. I come from a very musical family, on both sides of my family tree, and am a trained vocalist, a natural alto who can hear any harmony and read it, too, when needed. I solo and sing harmony in groups. It never occurred to me I could have a child who wasn’t musically inclined. But my oldest son, who loves music, can’t carry a tune to save his life. Fortunately my other two children got the gene. 😉 My second son plays the guitar and sings and wants to be in music ministry. I’m working to convince him to study music at a “real” school before going on to seminary if he so desires after getting a music degree. I knew my daughter was going to be a dancer before she was born. Everytime she heard music she started moving to it. Sure enough, she has moved to the music all her life and can carry a tune wonderfully already. I’ll probably start seeing if she can hear harmony sometime in the next year or so.
  3. I’m the shortest person in my family except for my mother, who is 1″ shorter than I am. I always wanted to be short like my mother. Little did I know that short equals weight-challenged after you’ve had children. LOL! There are lots of tall genes on both sides of the family for my children, so all my kids are tall. I found out a week before my oldest was born that my mother-in-law had all 9 lb. babies and I finally understood why I was as big as a cow! Sure enough, all my babies were over 9 lbs. Thankfully I had easy births.
  4. I don’t like perfume. I’m usually allergic to it, but can’t wear the ones I’m not allergic to either. But I still like things that smell good so everything else I use has to smell good including personal care products, laundry products and house-cleaning products. I’m very picky about smells.
  5. I don’t like the cold! It’s snowed here a couple times in the past week and I’m gritting my teeth to endure until the temperature gets back above the mid ’40s. I’m such a weakling! LOL! At times like this I remind myself, this is why I live in the South.
  6. When I need a “chill” break I like to read those vapid Regency romance novels. They’re like a chick-flick in a book and cheaper than a movie ticket. I have a few psychological thriller and romantic suspense authors I like to read too. When I take a mental break I don’t want to think any farther than who-done-it!
  7. Speaking of entertainment, I like all the Law and Order versions, all the CSI versions, NCIS, Criminal Minds (though that one is a little too much sometimes), etc. I like to figure it out and see the logic and the science. I also like Survivor and Amazing Race. I got hooked on Survivor when I was stuck in a chair for most of 3 months when I broke my ankle after my daughter was born. I don’t watch every season because it’s not a priority, but I enjoy watching the group psychology and trying to anticipate what they will do next.
  8. I’ll tag some folks whose blogs I enjoy or who have had posts that recently intrigued me: Christa (Stop Baptist Predators blog), my sister-in-law, Tammi, Jeri who has an awesome blog, Mike (The Virtual Pew), who has an interesting perspective on church, my good friend, Elita, Odale , who was one of the first to find my blog and comment, and Tee (OutofAbuse.com), who dares to tell it like it is inside an abusive marriage.

Leave a Reply

