Derek Gillett Case

I just have to comment a minute on the case of Derek Gillett from Cornerstone Community Chapel in Alpharetta, GA.  A couple days ago a friend and I were driving by the school where that church meets and getting the URL since she is church shopping.  Tuesday while we were on the phone we pulled up the church website and discussed it. 

Wednesday I saw the news article about Derek Gillett.  I about fell out of my chair!  It is such a jolt when the things I know happen all the time, and which I address daily on my blog because I’m passionate about the issue, allegedly turn up on my doorstep.  This church, and Midway United Methodist, are just a couple miles from my house.  I know many people who attend Midway UMC and my children and I have been there for various functions.  As far as I know we’ve never crossed paths with Derek Gillett personally, so I certainly can make no personal judgments.

But when allegations of clergy sex abuse turn up in your own neighborhood it is a powerful reminder of just how much it matters to continue to address this issue.  People in my own town – my neighbors really – are having their lives torn apart right now because, again, a pastor has been accused of stooping to sexually assaulting children.  This is why it matters!  I hope this turns out to be one of those times when the allegations are proven false.  I’ll update the site when a verdict is reached.  I’d love to be able to do a lengthy story about how this one was wrong and how God used that in a positive way!

305 Responses

  1. You make valid points with everything you say except in speaking for God. You may judge in this life but you are not God and only he decides if He forgives. For you to say there is no forgiveness by God is not for you to say. You are not God so don’t presume that you may speak for Him.

  2. What thoughts are in the minds of Derek’s supporters? Do they think that once God has forgiven him, Derek can be cured or rehabilitated? Do they think he is not a sexual deviant? Do they excuse his behavior somehow? Due to circumstances in his life? Do they think of Derek as a sick man, and they are standing by his family to help them? What if Derek was not such a charismatic individual? What if he was just a dull, regular guy who did not charm people? Would they speak up and support a regular guy who confessed to sexually molesting his stepdaughters? Or would they let a regular guy go to prison and pray for him without fanfare? What is going on?

  3. DFK,

    No one has “spoken” on here directly as a continued supporter of Derek’s innocence since the trial. It has been rumored that there are still some who believe him innocent, but no one has said that directly here.

    Here are some fantastic articles about this issue, that I strongly recommend:

    People See What they Want to See, Part I
    People See What they Want to See, Part II

    — Danni

  4. FYI-

    Derek Gillett has been transferred to D. Ray James Prison in Folkston, Ga. Its south of Waycross on Highway 252 near the Florida line.

  5. does anyone have any new news on derek or his family.

Leave a Reply

