My Other Bit of Good News

My other little triumph was — I was invited to join Phi Theta Kappa – the national honor society for junior colleges.  I knew I would be invited since the invites are automatic with a GPA over 3.5 after completion of 12 credit hours (mine is currently 3.92) but this past week was the orientation.   The induction ceremony is April 4.

I really didn’t know much about honors society other than that there is additional scholarship money available to honor society students.  And believe me, that is definitely one of my motivations!  I need every penny I can get because I can’t pay for school.  I didn’t know being part of Honors would also increase my options when transferring to a four year school after next year.  From what I heard, this will give me a lot more choices, potentially with full-ride opportunities if I keep my GPA like it is.

So I was excited to see the opportunities involved and available.  I’ve also been wanting to plug into the school community and particularly would like to tutor and mentor.  There’s a part of Honors that does that!  One of my “things” is that I think anyone with an average IQ can succeed.  But I think a lot of people, especially from difficult situations, think they can’t.  All they need is to learn to believe in themselves and get a little help – like learning how to study and how to write papers.  I can help with that!

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations Danni! And I completely agree with you that so much of what any of us may accomplish depends on whether or not we think we can. One of my favorite books as a kid (and as an adult reading to my own kid) was The Little Engine that Could. Remember? “I think I can…I think I can…I think I can…I think I can…” and over the hill she went. (And yes, the little engine that could was a “she”)

  2. You deserve a really big “Atta Girl”. Being a single mom is a full time job. Adding school, writing and studying to that list is working on overload. Your caring enough to keep this web page up for people to come and share their feelings as well as using your personal experiences to minister to the hurting is going above and beyond.

    Congratulations for pushing through that “personal drama” you spoke about.

Leave a Reply

