HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO BECAUSE IT MATTERS!

It’s hard to believe, but today marks the first anniversary of this blog!

As of this moment, there have been 114,809 views of the blog in the past year. That blows my mind! By the end of the day that number will go over 115,000.

The posts which have gotten by far the most viewers have been a few particular cases of charges of sex abuse against pastors. These have been the posts where the church community has found a place to communicate – for better or worse. While often it seems like it is for worse, I’m watching a narrative unfold that tells a greater story of what really happens in the church when a pastor is accused of sex abuse – whether justly or unjustly. The effects are far more devastating that anyone wants to admit. And I hope that some find answers and learn more about the issue of sex abuse in the church as a result.

There are two posts on this blog which are viewed every single day. They are God Answers Prayer in Abusive Marriages and Does God Want Me to Stay in an Abusive Marriage? The simple fact that these two articles are literally viewed several times, and sometimes many times, every single day says volumes about the relevance of this issue in the church. All the other articles I have written about domestic abuse in the church are viewed constantly, though not every one is accessed every day. Many of them (collectively) are accessed each day. Overall, the domestic abuse articles are viewed more than the articles on clergy sex abuse.

Thank you — to all of you who regularly, and occasionally, read here. Bless you — to all of you who have become cyber friends! You know who you are! I’ve “met” some wonderful people in the past year.

I’m looking forward to what God has in store for the next year. I know the very nature of this blog doesn’t bring all roses, but I know God also has good things planned. There are always good plans awaiting as well.

6 Responses

  1. Your blog helps me keep struggling forward despite the church’s and my ex-husband’s (still a practicing clergyman in ‘good standing’) utter betrayal of my trust. My losses are huge. I am mentally and emotionally defeated and battling illness as well as the daily emotional and mental after-effects of all that has happened. Thank you for being here, and for all the others in this chain who are standing up for the truth. I have lost my faith, but I was a deeply spiritual believer all my life, a true disciple of Christ. I care about others who are going through what I have come through, and I understand, as you do, how much they are suffering.

    • edge of raisin,

      I know what it’s like to battle the long-term physical, emotional and mental effects. Some days are especially hard because it seems so unfair. Perpetrators seem to move on effortlessly and the cosmos smiles on them. Mine is blissfully remarried with another baby, and even better off financially than he was before in spite of having to pay child support. While I get screamed at by extremely nasty bill collectors (yesterday’s lovely event) and live with daily physical pain and the knowledge that my life will always be different due to physical disabilities (that I refuse to let define my existence). And I accept that the mental and emotional battle will be a forever one. In spite of it, I’m happier now than I have ever been in my life – and depression-free for the first time in my life. It has been a long hard road to get here and I exult in it! At least now it is hard moments, hard days — not hard always.

      Even yesterday, when I got off the phone with that horrid woman my first thought was, “Is she right about me?” and I had to work through the process of deconstructing the conversation and then call the company back and lodge a complaint against her for her verbal abuse. But people like that are why women don’t leave their abusers, or return to them, that’s for sure. She was vicious in the worst possible way.

      God is the only hope I have. He never fails. Everything else does.

      — Danni

  2. lose your faith in mankind, strengthen your faith in God! too many churches and clergy depend on what man declares to be righteous instead on steadfastly holding to Gods principles. its up to us to continue doing good and persevere to the end.
    Hebrews 10:36
    You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.
    the people at this sight help make that possible!

  3. this link is for danni or any others that get calls from collection agencies replace the x’s with t’s
    hxxp://www.fair-debt-collection.com/rules/collection-calls-5.html

    • That’s good to know! I know they are not allowed to harrass. And I’m not even trying to avoid paying. That woman was way out of bounds. Thanks!

      — Danni

  4. Happy Anniversary, Danni! Well done.

Leave a Reply

