Former Deacon Stanley Dale Jones Sentenced for Child Sex Abuse

Former deacon Stanley Dale Jones was sentenced to three years in prison and seven years of probation after pleading guilty to six counts of sexual abuse of a child for molesting a 7-year-old girl.

This case was unique in that, while Jones apologized for his actions, he did not request to be excused from jail time. His attorney asked for it, but Jones did not. According to what I can glean from the referenced news article, Jones also appeared to want to continue offender treatment. There was nothing in Jones’ statement to indicate he wanted an “out” – he took full responsibility for his own choices. What a refreshing change!

2 Responses

  1. He had hoped to remain out of prison to continue that treatment, which his doctor said should last four to six more years.

    ??? The man is 72 years old, and he wanted to wait 4-6 years to finish his treatment before prision huh? That would make him almost 80 years old. I bet if he got it he would next pray to die before that happened as well.

    I’m sorry but that seems crazy that someone would EVER go near that! I know I need to get punished, but allow me to 4-6 years to finish my treatment plan first.

    Bleck! Finish your treatment afterwards!

    • 😉 I was at least glad he didn’t do the “have mercy on me as God does” thing. His attorney tried to get him out of jail time but Jones apparently indicated he expected to serve his time. I think that’s the first time I’ve ever seen that.

      As for treatment, I’ll bet he can get treatment in prison. Or it can wait. He’s not going to need in while he’s in prison, after all.

      — Danni

Leave a Reply

