Susie Wanted Dinner

This is so good, I got permission to repost it.

~~~

By Sharon Merhalski

Ron had the day off from work and decided to meet his family’s need for food when they came home that evening. He thought about what to prepare and decided to make a large dinner for the family instead of hamburgers on the grill. After taking time to consider how much he loved his family, and how thankful he was for them, he decided to make their favorite meal…a Thanksgiving dinner with every possible trimming anyone could imagine!

That evening when Ron was putting the Thanksgiving feast on the table Susie, his little girl, came in from outside and said, “Daddy, I’m hungry. Can I have some dinner?” He sweetly answered, “yes” and called the family to the supper table where each took their usual seat. Everyone gasped at the abundant table set with linen, china and crystal! Each member of the family was in awe at what dad had done for them…just for them!

Before prayer dad shared his written words of love and devotion and told them the sacrifice of his labor of love was his gift for them…and they were worth far more to him than the pain from the third degree burn on his right hand and the deep cut on his left thumb.

When the perfectly delicious food was passed mom carefully put each kind of delicious and nourishing food on Susie’s plate. Oddly, with each spoonful of food Susie said again, “Daddy, I’m hungry. Can I have some dinner?” Each time Susie repeated the question her Daddy quietly reminded her that her answer was right in front of her—it had already been provided for her–and all she had to do was eat it. However, Susie never picked up her fork or spoon and incessantly asked, “Daddy, I’m hungry. Can I have some dinner?”

Daddy, quietly, and with much patience, again read part of his written text to remind Susie he had already, with abundant and unconditional love, provided all she could hope for to answer her need but she kept saying the same thing, “Daddy, I’m hungry. Can I have some dinner?”

About half way through the meal it became evident to her loving father that Susie’s repeated request for food was not going to be met because Susie had decided by her actions that she was not going to believe her request had already been answered…even though it was in her reach. Her unbelief in the finished work of her father, and his written words, left her hungry, discouraged and still seeking for the answer to her need. All Susie had to do was assimilate the blessing.

What prompted me to pen the above paragraphs? I was prompted by a question that filled my heart when I was studying the goodness of God: How many times have I asked or begged God for what His Word assures me He has already provided for me…what He had already been placed within my grasp? The answer to that question birthed much thought coupled with regret that I had not begun to consistently live this truth a long time ago.

Two examples:

How often have I prayed for God to be with me in a circumstance? Whether I feel His presence or not the Bible says He lives in me so how can He not be with me on every mountaintop and in every valley? I need to thank Him for His presence, not ask Him for it. And, oh the times I have asked God to be especially near someone in a trial instead of thanking Him for His abiding presence in their lives.

How often have I begged for God to give me peace in heart-wrenching times? God’s name is Jehovah-Shalom: God is peace. All of the peace I need has been provided in Jesus. All I have to do is accept and assimilate peace and thank Him for His provision.

I’ve always known that faith is not faith if I can see it. I realize now when I have prayed for what God has already provided, instead of realizing it is mine to simply accept in unwavering faith, I get easily wrapped in unbelief because I cannot see, feel or touch the provision. Unbelief hinders what God is able to provide for us…it renders us powerless…it grieves the Holy Spirit.

The disciples left us with a good example of unbelief that rendered them powerless and the frustration of Jesus for the situation.

Matthew 17:16 And I brought him to thy disciples, and they could not cure him.

:17 Then Jesus answered and said, O faithless and perverse generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him hither to me.

:18 And Jesus rebuked the devil; and he departed out of him: and the child was cured from that very hour.

:19 Then came the disciples to Jesus apart, and said, Why could not we cast him out?

:20 And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.

Leave a Reply

